….And then there are the days when you just have to laugh

In between all the stress of job hunting and worrying about my future, I have still managed to find something to smile about every day. Today it wasn’t a post on Reddit or a joke, but, once again my klutziness:

Our deli has 3 scales where we weigh and price product. Other departments also use these scales to do the same things. While I have nothing against the other departments who come into our work space, I do have an issue with the fact that none of them know how to fix these damn things when they break. Today, a newer employee from produce was pricing some chocolate covered pretzels as I was helping customers and running around like a headless chicken. I was about to leave to put away some stock, when out of the corner of my eye I saw this kid standing by the scale with a panicked look on his face. I figured that I should probably see if he needed help. I was half way across the deli when suddenly my foot collided with some milk crates that were partially stacked under a nearby counter. Now I don’t know why on earth we have these things scattered about, but its like walking through a minefield: you never know when or where one is going to be and how badly its going to injure you. Needless to say all six feet of me toppled into the dessert container holder. The cracking sounds of plastic cake domes and cupcake holders echoed throughout the store. Next thing I know I am on the floor. I felt my face turning bright red as I saw my co workers and the random produce kid begin to laugh. I couldn’t help but join in. Tears streamed from my eyes as I lifted myself off the deli floor. Of course trying to help the poor kid in produce proved to be almost pointless considering I was in tears and continued to laugh with my other co workers for another 10+ minutes.

But it didn’t end there. At the end of my shift I took some dishes into the kitchen to find the kitchen staff staring at me: ” Maddie, we heard you went on a trip. Like you took a trip recently? A really nice one”. I stood there for about 15 seconds dumbfounded: ” A trip? What the hell are they…. OHHHH” . The Crying and laughing began again….Even as I sit here hours later writing this; i’m crying and laughing. I love days like this.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment